What a fine run of beautiful weather we seem to be having in London.  It’s days like this that make one feel optimistic for the future, the sun is shining, birds singing etc.  Cliched as this is it is true, in purely business terms I am seeing a renewed optimism in the City right now.  Deals seem to be happening, whether it’s acquisitions or mergers or interesting new start ups.  All around me there seems to be fascinating plans afoot, for the first time in a while there seems to be money available and people willing to invest in new projects.  There seems to be more of an energy and bullish mood about that I haven’t seen for a while.  Now this could of course just be my own perception from my own reasonably narrow focus but recruitment does tend to be a bellwether for the economy.  If the City is starting to pick up this can only be good news for the UK economy as a whole one would have thought?   While I can’t talk about specific roles or deals I’m involved in I can say it’s a very exciting time right now to be working.  

What are other peoples perceptions right now?  Are we heading for a new dawn or am I seeing a faltering start from a flat-lining economy?

